Top 5 Tips For Your First Day as a Retail Pharmacist

Nabila Ismail
4 min readNov 29, 2020

The moment you go from pharmacy student to pharmacist is slightly terrifying. You know you’ve been waiting to have that title forever but when it comes down to it, it’s totally scary. From being the tech, to the intern, to the one and only person who makes the final call is definitely a big transition and you can do it!

I became licensed in December 2019 and immediately, transitioned to pharmacist. Since it was so recent, I have some tips I’d like to share for a lot of you starting your very first day.

  1. Arrive 15 minutes early.

Give yourself plenty of time to walk in, get your bearings, put your lunch away, and take some deep breaths. If it’s your first day, I feel like you need extra time for making sure you can punch in properly, have your keys, and to connect with the team before being thrown into workflow. If you overlap with a pharmacist, this is a great time to ask them questions that you may have about how they operate at this location like where they file their prescriptions, what the safe codes are, where the immunizations are, the fridge temp logs, etc.

2. Introduce yourself to the team and say hi.

I can’t tell you how much this matters. Now that I’m staffing, whenever a new pharmacist joins us, I ask my team what they thought about the new…

--

--

Nabila Ismail
0 Followers

Hi, I'm Nabila! I'm a Pharmacist and Travel Blogger at Dose of Travel. I share how I traveled as a Doctoral student on my own dime!